About the Sacraments

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law. There are seven: Baptism, Confirmation (or Chrismation), the Eucharist, Penance, the Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony. The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith. There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life. Catechism of the Catholic Church, 2nd Edition

Seven Sacraments

The Sacraments in the Scriptures

Baptism: Matthew 28:16-20; Romans 6:3-11

Confirmation:  John 14:16-17, 26; Acts 19:1-6

Eucharist:  Luke 22:14-20; 1 Corinthians 11:23-26

Reconciliation:  John 20:19-23; 2 Corinthians 2:5-11

Anointing:  Mark 6:6-13; James 5:13-15

Marriage:  Matthew 19:1-6; Ephesians 5:21-33

Holy Orders:  Mark 3:13-18; Titus 1:5-9